29 Nov 2012

2012 IPNI Science Award Goes to A.E. Johnston of Rothamsted Research

December 3, 2012 – Norcross, Georgia, USA – The International Plant Nutrition Institute (IPNI) has named Mr. Arthur Edward (Johnny) Johnston as the winner of the 2012 IPNI Science Award. Mr. Johnston receives a special plaque along with a monetary award of USD 5,000.

“We are honored to be able to announce Johnny as the recipient of the IPNI Science Award,” said Dr. Terry Roberts, President of IPNI. “As an internationally-acclaimed expert on soil organic matter improvement and the efficient use of N, P and K fertilizers, Johnny’s contributions have been critical to our understanding of basic processes in soil fertility and crop nutrition. His work provides much of the base from which soil quality and sustainable agriculture research finds its center. We applaud Johnny’s dedication to long-term research and his many contributions in written, oral, and leadership form.”

Dr. Roberts also acknowledged the other outstanding nominees for the award, and encouraged future nominations of qualified scientists. Private or public sector agronomists, soil scientists, and crop scientists from all countries are eligible for nomination. This is the sixth year the IPNI Science Award has been presented. The previous recipient in 2011 was Dr. Michael McLaughlin of the University of Adelaide and the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO).

Johnny Johnston received his B.Sc. degree in Chemistry and Agricultural Chemistry from the University College of North Wales, Bangor in 1950. From 1953 to present day, Johnny has been associated with Rothamsted Research, Harpenden, UK. From 1983 to 1986, he was Head, Soils Division; 1987 to 1989, Head, Soils and Crops Production Division; 1989 to date, Lawes Trust Senior Fellow.

Mr. Johnston is a Past President and an Honorary Member of the International Fertiliser Society, Honorary Member of the Fertiliser Manufacturers Association (UK), and Honorable Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Agriculture and Forestry. Johnny is or has been a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the International Potash Institute, the World Phosphate Institute, the British Beet Research Organisation and the Technical Advisory Committee of the Potash Development Association (UK). He has undertaken commissions for scientific societies, institutes and agricultural industry associations. His awards and honors include the Annual Crop Nutrition Award presented by the International Fertilizer Industry Association (1994), the Francis New Memorial Medal presented by the International Fertiliser Society (1997); and the Leo M. Walsh Memorial Lecture invited by the Soil Science Society of America (2010).

The IPNI Science Award is intended to recognize outstanding achievements in research, extension, or education, with focus on efficient management of plant nutrients and their positive interaction in fully integrated crop production that enhances yield potential. Such systems improve net returns, lower unit costs of production, and maintain or improve environmental quality. The recipient is selected by a committee of noted international authorities.

More information and nomination forms for the 2013 IPNI Science Award are available from the headquarters or regional offices of the organization. Website: www.ipni.net/awards.

Ref. # 12107

Contact Dr. Terry Roberts at IPNI: tel. 1.770.447.0335; e-mail: troberts@ipni.net or Gavin Sulewski, IPNI Editor: tel: 1.770.447.0335; e-mail: gsulewski@ipni.net

A digital photo of Mr. Johnston and pdf copy of this press release are attached below and are also available at: www/ipni.net/pr or on request.

Additional Resources

PDF of this press releaseSize: 0.21 MB

Color Photo of A.E.JohnstonSize: 2.66 MB