19 Oct 2012

2012 Scholar Award Recipients Announced by International Plant Nutrition Institute

October 19, 2012 – Norcross, Georgia, USA – The 2012 winners of the Scholar Award sponsored by the International Plant Nutrition Institute (IPNI) have been selected.

The individual awards of USD 2,000 are available to graduate students in sciences relevant to plant nutrition and management of crop nutrients. The following 24 graduate students (listed by region) were named to receive the IPNI Scholar Award in 2012.

• Ms. Tesha Mardamootoo, University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa

Australia/New Zealand
• Mr. Jian Jin, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia
• Ms. Humaira Sultana, The University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia

• Ms. Weini Wang, Huazhong Agricultural University, Wuhan, China
• Mr. Guangjie Li, Institute of Soil Science, Chinese Academy of Science, Nanjing, China
• Mr. Zhanjun Liu, Graduate School of the Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, Beijing, China
• Mr. Yunfeng Peng, China Agricultural University, Beijing, China

Eastern Europe & Central Asia
• Ms. Anastasia Dolgodvorova, Moscow State University, Moscow, Russia
• Ms. Alina Arginbaeva, Bashkir State Agrarian University, Ufa, Russia
• Ms. Elena Yakovleva, Kuban State Agrarian University, Krasnodar, Russia

North America
• Mr. Matt Yost, University of Minnesota, St. Paul, USA
• Mr. Tom Bottoms, University of California, Davis, USA
• Mr. Ross Bender, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA
• Mr. Ryan Van Roekel, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, USA
• Ms. Yumiko Kanke, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, USA

South America
• Mr. Guillermo A. Divito, University of Mar del Plata, Argentina
• Ms. María Florencia Varela, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
• Ms. Luciana Paula Di Salvo, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
• Mr. Agustín Núñez, University of the Republic, Montevideo, Uruguay
• Mr. Rodrigo Coqui da Silva, University of São Paulo, Piracicaba, Brazil

South Asia
• Mr. Pardeep Kumar, Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, India
• Ms. Ekta Joshi, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, India
• Ms. Angelene Mariaselvam, University of Peradeniya, Peradeniya, Sri Lanka

Southeast Asia
• Mr. Choon Cheak Sim, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Serdang, Malaysia

Funding for the scholar award program is provided through support of IPNI member companies, primary producers of N, P, K, and other fertilizers. The recipients of the IPNI Scholar Award are selected by regional committees of IPNI scientific staff. The awards are presented directly to the students at a preferred location and no specific duties are required of them. Graduate students in the disciplines of soil and plant sciences including agronomy, horticulture, ecology, soil fertility, soil chemistry, crop physiology, and other areas related to plant nutrition are encouraged to apply. Graduate students attending a degree-granting institution located in any country with an IPNI program region are eligible. More information is available from IPNI staff, from individual universities, or from the IPNI website: www.ipni.net/awards

Common abbreviations and notes: N = nitrogen; P = phosphorus; K = potassium

Ref. # 12094

For photos of each IPNI scholar, please visit
www.ipni.net/NEWS or see attached files below.

Contacts: Dr. Terry L. Roberts, IPNI President, 770.447.0335; e-mail: troberts@ipni.net. or Gavin Sulewski, IPNI Editor, 770.825.8080; e-mail: gsulewski@ipni.net